Visit UCR Return to Campus website - Take the daily wellness check survey

We Engineer Excellence

We Stand in Solidarity Against Racism

The Department of Bioengineering stands in solidarity with our students, staff and faculty against social injustice and acts of racism. We are shocked and saddened by the recent, brutal deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, Nina Pop, Rayshard Brooks and others. Like many members of our community, we are frustrated that these deaths are only the most recent manifestations of long-standing racial inequality in this country. 
The Department supports the call to action made by the Bourns College of Engineering.
•    We acknowledge that systemic racism permeates and poisons all levels of academia. 
•    We affirm that the Department has zero tolerance for racism, institutional bias or acts of violence against Black members of our community. 
•    We are committed to supporting Black students and combating the bias and inequity they face. 
•    We are committed to critically examining our recruitment and retention efforts to better support Black students, faculty and staff. 
We would also like to take this moment to recognize the essential contributions made every day by Black students, faculty and staff. They are part of the Bioengineering family, and the department would not be as strong today without their efforts.


Board of Advisors


Gilda Barabino

Dean and Daniel Frances Berg Professor, The City College of New York
Member, National Academy of Engineering
Past-President of BMES
Past-President of AIMBE
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Walt Baxter

Cardiac Rhythm Management Therapy Delivery, Senior Principal Scientist, Medtronic
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors



Andrew Carmen

Director, Corporate Strategy & Business Development at 10x Genomics
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors

Matt Chludzinski

Director, Abbott Vascular
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Ruben Flores-Saaib

Associate Director of Licensing, USC Stevens Center for Innovation
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Amir Gandjbakhche

Senior Investigator, Intramural Research Program, NIH
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Shirley Min

Principal Scientist, ABBOTT
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Roderic I. Pettigrew

Chief Executive Officer of Engineering Health
Executive Dean for Engineering Medicine
Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry, Texas A&M
Member, National Academy of Medicine
Member, National Academy of Engineering
Founding Director of NIBIB, NIH
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors



William R. Pratt

VP Operations, Kinamed Inc.
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors


Ben VerSteeg

CEO, Breadbox Tech LLC
Member, Bioengineering Board of Advisors

John Watson

John Watson

Founder of the William von Liebig Center for Entrepeneurism and Technology Advancement and Professor of Bioengineering at the University of California, San Diego
Member, National Academy of Engineering
Chair, Bioengineering Board of Advisors